As we near the end of the year 2020, states across the country are organizing end of the year Tennis Tournaments to wrap up the rather ‘uneventful’ year.

Last week in Kwara State, action went down as some of the best players in the state battled it out, at the Tennis Courts of the Kwara State Stadium. The event which featured Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles only, was organized by Coach Layi Ifarinde and Coach Amao Adewumi.

Wuraola and Are finish 2020 as Champions in Kwara State

Kwara State Tennis Coaches: Coach Layi Ifarinde(L) and Coach Amao Adewumi.

In the Men’s Singles category, Majeed Wuraola, who is Kwara’s number 1 ranked male player, emerged winner after defeating Tosho Yusuf (no. 2 in the state) in the finals. Although Wuraola isn’t active in national tournaments, while Yusuf was a participant at the CBN Senior Open in Abuja, but didn’t make it past the qualifying rounds.

Majeed Wuraola

Majeed Wuraola(R).

Tosho Yusuf

Tosho Yusuf(R).

Likewise in the Women’s Singles, Kwara’s number 1 female Tennis player, Bunmi Are, who is currently ranked 16th on the Women’s National Ranking, claimed victory after defeating Rachael Adunoye in the finals. Adunoye is ranked number 2 in Kwara State, but comes in at number 35 on the National Ranking.

Bunmi Are

Bunmi Are.

Rachael Adunoye

Rachael Adunoye.

Both ladies participated in the Main Draw of the 2020 CBN Senior Open Tennis Championship in Abuja last month. Are entered the Main Draw as a direct acceptance, bowing out to eventual champion Oyinlomo Quadre in the second round, while Adunoye went through qualifying to secure a spot in the main draw, before suffering a first round defeat to Stella Udokwelu.

Rachael Adunoye and Bunmi Are

Rachael Adunoye(L) and Bunmi Are pose for the camera.

The year-ending tournament came to a close on the 17th of December, 2020.

Here are the list of winners and runners-up from the event:

Men’s Singles

Winner: Majeed Wuraola
1st Runner up: Tosho Yusuf
2nd Runner up: Ridwan Abdulraheem
3rd Runner up: Yinka Durodola

Women’s Singles

Winner: Bunmi Are
1st Runner up: Rachael Adunoye
2nd Runner up: Rahmat Adeyemo
3rd runner up: Fatimah Wuraola