Lagos Open 2019

Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Round 4

Lagos Open is an International Tennis Federation accredited tournament that takes place annually at Lagos Lawn Tennis Club. The event is classified as a $25,000 ITF Men’s and Women’s World Tour tournament.

It has been held in Lagos, Nigeria every year since the first edition in year 2000. But Due to the West African Ebola virus epidemic, the 14th edition was competed only by African players and was made a non-point winning tournament by ITF. By 2015, the move has reversed, and the competition regained its international status.

It is a 2 week long Tournament with 5 ATP Points on offer for the Men’s Singles Champions while the Women’s Singles Champions will get a massive 50 ATP Points for winning.

The Categories at the Lagos Open are Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s Doubles and Women’s Doubles. The prize money of $25,000 is shared between participants from the 1st Round of Qualifying to the Emerging Winner. The winners goes home with about $3000 for their efforts.

In 2018, the competition was renamed from “Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis” to “Lagos Open” and the Reigning Men’s Champion is Jack Draper of Great Britain who won the title at the age of 16, while the Reigning Champion for the Women’s title is 19 Year Old Pranjala Yadlapalli from India who dominated the tournament in 2018