After three days of intense round-robin hostilities at the 14th Edition of the CBN Junior Championship ongoing at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, semifinalists have emerged from the different age categories.

DSC 2881

Yohanna Yakubu prepares to serve for an ace during his clash with David Edwards

In the final round of group matches played on Friday, from the Boys Under-14 Group A, top seed Yohanna Yakubu is out of the tournament after losing 9-4 to David Edwards. Edward’s opponent in the last 4 is Mohammed Jubril who still qualified despite losing 9-4 to number 2 seed Seyi Ogunsakin. Ogunsakin finished the group phase with a 100 percent record and he will face Arwal Jaji in the semifinals. Isreal Adeusi was Jaji’s victim.

DSC 3237

Gabriel Inyang didn’t leave up to his top seeding as crashed out in the group stage

Another top seed that crashed out on Friday was Gabriel Inyang. Inyang competing in the Under-16 from Group A lost his second match of the tournament to Ganiyu Mubarak 9-6. Mubarak has looked comfortable in his opening three matches but would be having a feisty test in the semifinals against 2nd seed Joshua Maxwell who qualified from Group B despite his loss to David Ekpenyong in the final round-robin match. Ekpenyong’s semifinal opponent is Moses Olamilekan who finished second from Group A. Olamilekan beat Sanni Isiaku 9-4 to progress.

DSC 3255

Moses Olamilekan will have a mouthful against David Ekpenyong in the semifinal

Meanwhile, Filipo Trombi was unavailable for his match against Silas Isaac. His place was taken by Monday Odey, a standy alternate who went on to win 9-5.

DSC 3023

Lucky Danjuma powerful forehand couldn’t save him from defeat against Ogunsakin.

Also, the duo of Seun Ogunsakin and Lucky Danjuma made it through to the semifinals from the Under-14 Group A. Ogunsakin, the top seed and Danjuma faced off in their third match of the tournament with the former winning 9-3. Their opponents in the semifinals are John Nubari and Mohammed Idris respectively. Nubari conquered Henry Aina 9-7 in his third victory while Idris sent out Praise Ikeuba 9-1 from Group B.

DSC 2901

Semifinal here she comes! Khadijat Mohammed raises her celebratory fist.

Meanwhile, semifinalists have also emerged from the Girls category. In the Girls 14 and Under, 1st seed Nene Yakubu has a last 4 date against Khadijat Mohammed while 2nd seed Favour Amaechi crashed out of the tournament. Amarachi Ezeh defeated Amaechi 9-4 and will now face Mary Azi who was defeated by Yakubu by the same scoreline in the semifinals.

DSC 3453

Oiza Yakubu smashes in her return and grabs a semifinal berth

In the Girls 16 and Under, it is going to be a battle of the top seeds in the semifinals as number 1 seed Oiza Yakubu face 2nd  seed Mary Udoffa. Both players didn’t have much to do against third-round opponents with Yakubu dispatching Salamatu Haruna 9-2 in Group A while Udoffa beat Faith Ameh who replaced the absent Destiny Okhinaye 9-1.

Salamatu Haruna faces Blessing Otu in the other semifinal match.

All semifinal matches are billed for Saturday, October 10 while the final is on Sunday October 11.



BOYS 12 and Under.


David Edwards beat Yohanna Yakkubu 9-4

Arwal Jaji beat Isreal Adewusi 9-1


Seyi Ogunsakin beat Mohammed Jubril 9-4

Victor Hemba beat Hussein Ayoola 9-1


Boys 14 and Under


Seun Ogunsakin beat Lucky Danjuma 9-3

Praise Ikeuba beat Onyekachi Ogunjiofor 9-7


Mohammed Idris beat Precious Ikeuba 9-1

John Nubari beat Henry Aina 9-7


Boys 16 and Under


Ganiyu Mubarak beat Gabriel Inyang 9-6

Moses Olamilekan beat Sanni Isiaku 9-4


David Ekpenyong beat Joshua Maxwell 9-5

Monday Odey beat Silas Isaac 9-5


Girls 14 and Under


Nene Yakubu beat Mary Azi 9-4

Priscilla Terfa beat Ndidi Osaji 9-1


Amarachi Ezeh beat Favour Amaechi 9-4

Khadijat Mohammed beat Fego Ayetuoma 9-0


Girls 16 and Under


Oiza Yakubu beat Salamatu Haruna 9-2

Chidinma Ezeh beat Toyin Adeniran 9-2


Mary Udoffa beat Faith Ameh 9-1



Semifinal Fixtures.

Boys 12 and Under

David Edwards vs Mohammed Jubril

Seyi Ogunsakin vs Arwal Jaji


Boys 14 and Under

Seun Ogunsakin vs John Nubari

Mohammed Idris vs Lucky Danjuma


Girls 14 and Under

Nene Yakubu vs Khadijat Mohammed

Amarachi Ezeh vs Mary Azi


Girls 16 and Under

Oiza Yakubu vs Mary Udoffa

Blessing Otu vs Salamatu Haruna