There were lots of impressive performances on the first day of group stage action at the Chevron Junior Tennis Invitational Masters in Lagos, as the best youngsters in the country began their quest for honours at the event.

In the Boys’ Under-12, all the boys who represented Nigeria at the AJC Finals qualifiers in Cotonou earlier in March were present and in action.

10-year-old Seun Ogunshakin made light work of Mohammed Idris, who was his teammate in Cotonou, to win 9-2, while Precious Ikeuba eased to a 9-1 victory over Precious Aliya.

In the Girls’ Under-12, Salamatu Haruna, who was a member of the girls’ team in Cotonou, edged Nene Yakubu 9-6, while Faith Adeusi steamrolled Favour Amarachi 9-2.

In the Boys Under-14 category, Suleiman Ibrahim produced a flawless display to beat Philip Pyagbara 9-0. Abubakar Aliyu, too, turned on a perfect performance to seal a 9-0 win against Omote Agogo.

Elsewhere in the Girls’ Under-16 category, Serena Teluwo, serving at 8-7, squandered 3 match points, as she went on to lose 8-9(4-7) to Peace Obabori. Obabori made it two wins out of two on the day, with a 9-0 drubbing over Sofia Office.

Day 1 results from the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan:

Girls Under-12

Salamatu Haruna bt Nene Yakubu 9-6
Juanita Mueka bt Comfort Alex 9-2
Faith Adeusi bt Favour Amarachi 9-2
Amarachi Ezeh bt Mary Azi 9-2

Boys Under-12

Seun Ogunshakin bt Mohammed Idris 9-2
Praise Ikeuba bt Precious Aliya 9-1
David Edwards bt Solomon Yahweh 9-0
Precious Ikeuba bt Emma Ameh 9-5
Danjuma bt Innocent 9-0
Mike Nekekpemi bt Seyi Ogunshakin 9-4

Boys Under-14

David Dawariye bt Tochukwu Okafor 9-2
Habila Hagga bt Confidence Igben 9-1
Suleiman Ibrahim bt Philip Pyagbara 9-0
Sunday Ameh bt Arwal Garba 9-2
Usman Garuba bt FearGod Godfrey 9-1
Abubakar Aliyu bt Omote Agogo 9-0

Daniel Adeleye bt Gbolahan Oladipupo 9-2 Joshua Maxwell bt Kevin Brendan 9-4

Girls Under-16

Omolayo Bamidele bt Favour Abengowe 9-0
Peace Udoh bt Sofia Office 9-0
Peace Udoh bt Olamide Aluko 9-3
Favour Moses bt Toyosi Adeusi 9-7
Ngowari Jim Jaja bt Chidinma Ezeh 9-4
Rebecca Ekpeyong bt Mary Udoffa 9-2
Destiny Okhinaye bt Di Mario Excellent 9-0
Omolade Aderemi bt Amarachi Odoh 9-1
Peace Obabori bt Sonia Office 9-0
Peace Obabori bt Serena Teluwo 9-8(7-4)