Qualifying action in the men’s singles at the Rainoil Open got underway on Friday at the Lagos Country Club, Ikeja, with a host of players looking to secure main draw spots.

Rising stars, David Dawariye, Gabriel Friday and Suleiman Ibrahim were among those who made flying starts in their bid to book a place in next week’s main draw event.

Dawariye, aged 15 and ranked 57th in the country, made quick work of Dele Ogunshakin, 6-1, 6-2, on Court 5. Dawariye, a champion at the CBN Junior Open in May, next faces Emmanuel Onyejiaka, who sped past Nsikan Friday, 6-1, 6-2, in an earlier match on the same court.

DSC 0222

David Dawariye

Gabriel Friday, who made his maiden semifinals on the ITF Junior Circuit at the NTF International Juniors this month, lost just a game in defeating Ramat Mumuni 6-0, 6-1, and will now play Nasiru Sani, who beat Michael Akinyanju 6-3, 6-1, in the second round.

DSC 0739

Gabriel Friday

Elsewhere, Suleiman Ibrahim, winner of the Boys 16 & Under title at the SNEPCo Futures Tennis Championship in Lagos six months ago, claimed a 6-1, 4-0 (rtd) win over Abuchi Okafor. The talented youngster was well on track to his first round win before Okafor retired due to injury.

In other encounters, Elvis Isibor and Ismaila Adeshina scored a pair of contrasting first round victories to set up a second round meeting. While Isibor dug deep in a super tiebreaker against Ifeanyi Eyiobi to win 6-4, 2-6, 11-9, Adeshina didn’t break a sweat in a 6-0, 6-0 dismantling of Ibrahim Isiaka.

Friday’s results

Emmanuel Onyejiaka bt. Nsikan Friday 6-1, 6-2
Tobi Thomas WO Jimoh Taofeek
Segun Jimoh bt. Olufemi Sunday 7-6(1), 6-4
Babalola Wale bt. Joseph Jimoh 6-2, 6-1
Chibuzor Onyekwelu bt. Tosin Runsewe 6-2, 7-6(3)
Ramos Osagie bt. Braimoh Musa 7-6(7), 6-1
Suleiman Ibrahim bt. Abuchi Okafor 6-1, 4-0 rtd
Endurance Ehigamusoe bt. Elisha Olowogbile 6-2, 6-0
David Dawariye bt. Dele Ogunsakin 6-1, 6-2
Ayobami Ajayi bt. Olayinka 6-0, 6-0
Kazeem Ishaq bt. Joseph Fortune 6-1, 3-6, 13-11
Elvis Isibor bt. Ifeanyi Eyiobi 6-4, 2-6, 11-9
George Osakwe bt. Lawal Ahmad 6-2, 6-3
John Ihesie bt. Fortune Emmanuel 6-0, 6-1
Gabriel Friday bt. Ramat Mumuni 6-0, 6-1
Nasiru Sani bt. Michael Akinyanju 6-3, 6-1
Jolly Joseph bt. Kelvin Brendan 6-2, 6-2
Ronald Franklin bt. James Atobong 6-6(2-1) rtd
Ebuka Ezewoko bt. Idris Olowu 6-0, 6-0
Fredrick Omuta bt. Kazeem Fadipe 6-4, 6-1
Ismaila Adeshina bt. Ibrahim Isiaka 6-0, 6-0
Andrew Idoko bt. Noah Adamu 6-3, 4-6, 12-10