Sylvester Emmanuel’s hope of winning the CBN Senior Open title three years in a row, was dashed in a showdown that ended in a 6-7(4), 6-1, 4-2 rtd victory for Musa Mohammed.

Emmanuel narrowly took the first set via a tie-break, before Mohammed came back strongly in the second set, dropping just one game, the Abuja-based player then carved out a break in the final set before Sylvester Emmanuel retired, handing Musa his biggest ever victory at the Senior CBN.

2011 finalist Nonso Madueke, however, had no trouble defeating 2015 champion Thomas Otu in an impressive 6-2, 6-4 victory. The only thing standing between Nonso Madueke and being in the finals is a match with Nigeria’s number 7, Musa Mohammed.

DSC 0448 01

Nonso Madueke

Uche Oparaoji turned a hard-fought first set around and delivered an incredible 7-5, 6-1 win against Ikechukwu Iloputa. Nigeria’s No. 6 Oparaoji, will now face Joseph Imeh in the semifinals. Imeh didn’t have to play a match as he claimed a walkover win against Emmanuel Idoko.

DSC 0758 01

Uche Oparaoji in action.

In the women’s singles, Oyinlomo Quadre, Nigeria’s number one, ousted Jesutoyosi Adeusi in an impressive 6-1, 6-1 win. She might be on course to winning back-to-back titles at the CBN Senior Open.

DSC 0435

Oyinlomo Quadre

2-time winner, Sarah Adegoke claimed a win after a flawless 6-1, 6-0 victory over Aanu Aiyegbusi. Sarah Adegoke, who didn’t play last year, was given a wildcard to compete at this year’s tournament. Her hope of claiming her 3rd CBN Senior Open title will now be tested when she faces Oyinlomo Quadre in the semifinals.

Osariemen Airhunwunde seeded number 8, defeated Omolade Aderemi 6-2, 6-3, to secure her place in the Semifinals. She will be playing against Marylove Edwards, who was able to outdo 2-time champion, Christie Agugbom 6-4, 7-5. In the event that Marylove defeats Airhunwunde, this will be her second time in the finals, after losing as a 12-year-old to Sarah Adegoke in 2017.

DSC 0366

Osariemen Airhunwhunde

In the men’s doubles, Joseph Imeh and Albert Bikom have continued to maintain their form, and might be on track to winning a doubles title together again. On Thursday, they defeated Emmanuel Ikakah and Charles Uwandu 6-3, 6-2 in the 2nd round before coming back from a set down in the quarter-finals, to defeat Emmanuel Idoko and Oche Adehi 2-6, 6-1, 10-8 to make the semifinals.

In the women’s doubles Semifinals, Oyinlomo Quadre/Serena Teluwo narrowly defeated Aanu Aiyegbusi/Sarah Adegoke 6-4, 4-6, 10-3, while Omolayo Bamidele and Jesutoyosi Adeusi beat the duo of Mary Tenu-Michael and Osariemen Airhunwunde 6-1, 6-3. Qaudre will now have the chance of defending her doubles title when she and her partner (Teluwo) play against Bamidele and Adeusi in the finals on Friday.


Main Draw Results
Men’s Singles – Quarterfinals

Musa Mohammed bt. Sylvester Emmanuel 6-7(4), 6-1, 4-2 rtd
Nonso Madueke bt. Thomas Otu 6-2, 6-4
Uche Oparaoji bt. Ikechukwu Iloputa 7-5, 6-1
Joseph Imeh WO Emmanuel Idoko

Women’s Singles – Quarterfinals

Oyinlomo Quadre bt. Jesutoyosi Adeusi 6-1, 6-1
Sarah Adegoke bt. Aanu Aiyegbusi 6-1, 6-0
Osariemen Airhunwunde bt. Omolade Aderemi 6-2, 6-3
Marylove Edwards bt. Christie Agugbom 6-4, 7-5


Men’s Doubles – 2nd Round

Joseph Imeh/Albert Bikom bt. Emmanuel Ikakah/Charles Uwandu 6-3, 6-2
Emmanuel Idoko/Oche Adehi bt. Endurance Ehigiamusoe/Christopher Itodo 6-4, 6-2
Kesiye Maxwell/Emmanuel Paul bt. Stephen Augustine/Anthony Leo 6-3, 6-1
Emmanuel Sunday/Nonso Madueke bt. Samuek Akagha/Chibuzor Onyekwelu 6-4, 6-1
Christian Paul/Musa Mohammed bt. Michael Osewa/Ridwan Morakinyo 6-2, 6-4
Ikechukwu Iloputa/Joseph Iyorovbe bt. Sani Adamu/Musa Bala 7-5, 6-4
Abdulmumin Babalola/Lawal Shehu bt. John Dickson/Linus Paul 6-2, 6-1


Men’s Doubles – Quarterfinals

Joseph Imeh/Albert Bikom bt. Emmanuel Idoko/Oche Adehi 2-6, 6-1, 10-8
Tochukwu Ezeh/Abayomi Philips bt. Kesiye Maxwell/Emmanuel Paul 6-3, 6-4


Women’s Doubles – Semifinals

Oyinlomo Quadre/Serena Teluwo bt. Aanu Aiyegbusi/Sarah Adegoke 6-4, 4-6, 10-3
Omolayo Bamidele/Jesutoyosi Adeusi bt. Mary Tenu-Michael/Osariemen Airhunwunde 6-1, 6-3