The wildcard playoffs for the Dayak Tennis Championships- the second ITF World Tour event in Abuja- got underway on Friday, with 12 players competing for two wildcard slots.

Hugo Largo, Musa Mohammed, Sani Musa, Tochukwu Ezeh, Anthony Obekpa, Maxwell Kesiye, Emmanuel Sunday, Dan Hiddleson of USA, Mukhtar Andu, Uche Oparaorji, Gabriel Friday, and Britain’s Darryl Hale, were all in contention.

In the top section of the draw, 17-year-old Musa Mohammed defeated Sani Musa in the opening round before taking out Spain’s Largo, who had been given a second round bye, in the quarter-finals. Mohammed will now face Tochukwu Ezeh in the semifinals, after Ezeh defeated Michael Kesiye in his own quarterfinal.

In the bottom half of the draw, Emmanuel Sunday and Gabriel Friday powered through the draw to set up a semi-final clash on Saturday.

Sunday defeated Dan Hiddleson and Mukhtar Andu, while Gabriel Friday got past Uche Oparaoji, and then benefited from a walkover against Darryl Hale of Great Britain in the quarterfinals.

The winners of the semifinal matches will automatically get the two available wildcards.

The semi-final matches between Tochukwu Ezeh and Musa Mohammed and Emmnuel Sunday against Gabriel Friday will be live from the National Tennis Centre on Saturday.