The Chevron Junior Tennis Invitational Masters served off at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan, Lagos on Wednesday, with 64 players in action.

The tournament, which is the final phase of a mass training and talent identification and development program held in seven locations across the nation, features representatives from the six zones of the federation and top players from the coaching program and junior tournaments.

Chevron Junior Championship which used to feature only the 16 and under age category has now been expanded to include the boys and girls 12 and under age group.

IMG 20190327 WA00052

The director of the International Tennis Academy, Godwin Kienka, throwing the tournament open in Lagos today.

In the Boys U-16 category, David Dawariye, Tochukwu Okafor, Habila Hagga, and Confidence Igben comprise Group A.

Group B – Suleiman Ibrahim, Philip Pyagbara, Arwal Garba, Sunday Ameh.

Group C – Usman Garuba, FearGod Godfrey, Abubakar Aliyu, Omote Agogo.

Group D – Daniel Adeleye, Gbolahan Oladipupo, Kevin Brendan, Joshua Maxwell.

Only one player will qualify from each group for the semifinals.

In the Girls’ Under-16 category, 18 players are split into 4 groups, with one player qualifying from each group for the semis.

Group A – Omolayo Bamidele, Favour Abengowe, Sofia Office, Peace Udoh, Olamide Aluko.

Group B – Omolade Aderemi, Amarachi Odoh, Peace Obabori, Sonia Office, Serena Teluwo.

Group C – Favour Moses, Toyosi Adeusi, Chidinma Ezeh, Ngowari Jim Jaja.

Group D – Rebecca Ekpeyong, Mary Udoffa, Destiny Okhinaye, Di Mari Excellent.

12 players are in for the Boys Under-12 category, with two players to qualify from each group for the semifinals.

Group A – Seun Ogunshakin, Mohammed Idris, Praise Ikeuba, Precious Aliya, Solomon Yahweh, David Edwards.

Group B – Precious Ikeuba, Emma Ameh, Danjuma, Innocent, Mike Nekekpemi, Seyi Ogunshakin.

In the Girls Under-12 category, 8 players will compete in two groups, with two qualifying from each group for the semifinals.

Group A – Salamatu Haruna, Nene Yakubu, Juanita Mueka, Comfort Alex.

Group B – Faith Adeusi, Favour Amaechi, Mary Azi, Amarachi Ezeh.

Group stage matches will hold from 27 – 29, while the semifinals will be on the 30th. The grand finale is slated for Sunday, March 31.