The women’s singles qualifying round action at the CBN Open kicked off on Friday at the National Tennis Centre in Abuja, with 64 players vying for a place in the main draw. However, only 8 will go through.

In the first round, Toyosi Adeusi, a regular semi-finalist in junior tournaments this year, didn’t have to spend much time on court, as Happiness Eyaherie retired midway through the first set, while she was 4-0 up. Adeusi will next take on Blessing Otu, who defeated Khadijat Salami in three sets.

Elsewhere, former Nigeria’s No.1, Omotayo Osewa, who was a champion at this event in 2001, defeated Esther Azi 6-1, 5-7, 11-9 to reach the second round. The 38-year-old takes on Chioma Ebunson next. In another match, Serena Teluwo, who won this year’s CBN Junior Under-14 title, went past Destiny Okhinaye 6-2, 7-5, while Jumai Mohammed, a semifinalist at this month’s Zenith Bank Masters, steamrolled Victoria Adai 6-0, 6-0.

Oiza Yakubu and Mary Udoffa, both of whom represented Nigeria at junior tournaments in the 14 & Under category in Togo this year, received first round byes and will begin their qualifying campaign today.

Complete first round results

Oiza Yakubu – Bye
Faith Ameh bt. Halima Dirisu 6-1, 4-6, 10-6
Mariam Salami bt. Ene Egbere 6-0, 6-1
Pauline Ebijimi bt. Amarachi Odoh 6-3, 7-5
Toyosi Adeusi bt. Happiness Eyaherie 4-0 Rtd
Blessing Otu bt. Khadijat Salami 3-6, 6-4, 10-1
Abies Amadasun bt. Miracle Sunday 6-4, 6-4
Mary Udoffa – Bye
Amara Nwokolo – Bye
Comfort Spencer bt. Charity Patrick 6-4, 6-1
Rebecca Kwange bt. Oduwa Idenhen 6-1, 6-1
Naomi Sunday bt. Grace Alabi 6-2, 6-3
Omotayo Osewa bt. Esther Azi 6-1, 5-7, 11-9
Chioma Ebunson bt. Bunmi Ojo 6-1, 6-0
Patricia Mba bt. Precious Abel 6-4, 6-2
Afolarin Akosile bt. Julite Enyi 6-0, 6-1
Faith Sunday bt. Loveth Ogah 6-3, 6-2
Ujuwan Umeh bt. Mercy Samuel 6-4, 6-2
Temipre Maxwell bt. Bekee Osinachi 6-3,6-3
Serena Teluwo bt. Destiny Okhinaye 6-2, 7-5
Olamide Aluko bt. Esther Ajayi 6-1, 6-2
Blessing Omotayo bt. Efeturi Akin 6-1, 6-1
Chidinma Ezeh bt. Mary Godwin 6-1, 6-3
Iveren Gege bt. Peculiar Ezeh 6-0, 6-0
Rachael Adunoye – Bye
Esther Olamide bt. Faith Christopher 6-4, 6-3
Rehima Bello bt. Doosha Ajoko 6-3, 6-3
Jumai Mohammed bt. Victoria Adai 6-0, 6-0
Udochi Amanze bt. Udochi Amanze 7-6(6), 6-2
Agnes Ogar bt. Tina Chinonso 6-2, 6-1
Loretta Ahura bt. Neku Onoja 6-1, 6-1
Temitope Fashanu – Bye

Second round fixtures

Oiza Yakubu vs Faith Ameh
Mariam Salami vs Pauline Ebijimi
Toyosi Adeusi vs Blessing Otu
Abies Amadasun vs Mary Udoffa
Amara Nwokolo vs Comfort Spencer
Rebecca Kwange vs Naomi Sunday
Omotayo Osewa vs Chioma Ebunson
Patricia Mba vs Afolarin Akosile
Faith Sunday vs Mercy Samuel
Temipre Maxwell vs Serena Teluwo
Olamide Aluko vs Blessing Omotayo
Chidinma Ezeh vs Iveren Gege
Rachael Adunoye vs Esther Olamide
Rehima Bello vs Jumai Mohammed
Jennifer Cook vs Agnes Ogar
Loretta Ahura vs Temitope Fashanu