The wildcards for the 41st edition of the CBN Senior Open have been announced, with the country’s junior players taking most of the slots in the men’s and women’s singles categories, as well as the doubles category.

Eight slots were split between the singles, while 3 each went to the men’s and women’s doubles.

Emmanuel Jebutu, runner-up at the recently-concluded Zenith Bank Next Gen Masters, Matthew Abamu, David Dawariye and Suleiman Ibrahim comprise those given in the men’s singles.

In the women’s singles, Oyinlomo Quadre, who came in from the High Performance Centre in Morocco where she’s been since the start of the year, Iye Onoja, Favour Moses, and Christy Mbadiwe got the slots.

IMG 20190412 WA00043

Oyinlomo Quadre

The two slots for the men’s doubles category went to the pairs of Emmanuel Jebutu and Tochukwu Ezeh, and Michael Ayoola and Sani Musa.

The young duo Oiza Yakubu and Iye Onoja, Omolayo Bamidele and Jumai Mohammed, and Destiny Okhinaye and Toyosi Adeusi got the other three wildcards for the women’s doubles.

The President of the country’s tennis federation had earlier revealed that players who were transiting from the junior circuit to the senior’s were going to be the priority for wildcards.

Main draw action at the CBN Senior Open serves off on Monday, 24 June – 29 June at the National Tennis Centre in Abuja.