DSC 6763 01

Ganiyu Mubarak in action on Wednesday.

Group stage action got under on Wednesday at the 14th edition of the CBN Junior Championship in Lagos with some top seeds starting on a bright note in the various categories.

Starting with the boys Under-12 split into two groups, top seed, Yohanna Yakubu was made to work hard in his 9-6 victory over Arwal Jaji in Group A. The encounter was a repeat of last year’s Under-10 final also won by Yakubu. Second seed, Seyi Ogunsakin however had no worries seeing off Hussein Ayoola in the best of 9 games, 9-1 to qualify for the second round in Group B.

Elsewhere, from Group A, David Edward beat Isreal Adewusi 9-1 while Mohammed Jubril had to dig deep to dispatch Victor Hemba 9-7 in group B.

Another top seed that made it through was Seun Ogunsakin in the boys Under-14. The 2019 under 12 champion and 1st seed was ruthless against Onyekachi Ogunjiofor winning 9-0 in Group A. The victory is obviously a statement of intention from the highly-rated tennis player. Lucky Danjuma, defeated by Seun in the Under-12 category last year also started brightly against Praise Ikeuba with a 9-6 victory.

From Group B, 2nd seed Mohammed Idris beat John Nubari 9-7 while Precious Ikeuba saw off Henry Aina 9-5.

The top-seeded player in the girls Under-14, Nene Yakubu produced a flawless performance to beat Ndidi Osaji in Group A. Yakubu all-round game has improved since winning the Under-12 category last year. Favour Ameachi seeded 2nd dispatched Fego Ayetuoma 9-5 in Group B.

Other players from the category are Mary Azi and Amarachi Ezeh that defeated Priscilla Terfa and Khadijat Mohammed respectively.

In Group A of the boys Under-16, number 1 seed Gabriel Inyang cruised past Sanni Isiaku, 9-5, while 2nd  seed Joshua Maxwell also had an identical result against Silas Issac in Group B. From the same group, 2019 Under-14, champion David Ekpeyong made light work of Filipo Trombi 9-1.

DSC 6776 01

Moses Olamilekan after his loss against Ganiyu Mubarak.

Moses Olamilekan however lost to Ganiyu Mubarak 9-2 in Group A.

Elsewhere, in the girls Under-16, Group B produced the biggest upset of the day when 2nd seed Mary Udoffa was defeated by unseeded Blessing Otu 9-3. However top seed Oiza Yakubu didn’t suffer the same fate as she produced a dominant display to beat Toyin Adeniran 9-1 in Group A.

There was also a victory for last year Under-14 champion, Serena Teluwo who beat Destiny Okhinaye, 9-4 in Group B while Salamatu Haruna saw off Chidinma Ezeh 9-4 in Group A.



BOYS 12 and Under.


Yohanna Yakubu beat Arwal Jaji 9-6

David Edward beat Isreal Adewusi 9-1


Seyi Ogunsakin beat Hussein Ayoola 9-1

Mohammed Jubril beat Victor Hemba 9-7


Boys 14 and Under


Seun Ogunsakin beat Onyekachi Ogunjiofor 9-0

Lucky Danjuma beat Praise Ikeuba 9-6


Mohammed Idris beat John Nubari 9-7

Precious Ikeuba beat Henry Aina 9-5


Boys 16 and Under


Gabriel Inyang beat Sanni Isiaku 9-5

Ganiyu Mubarak beat Moses Olamilekan 9-2


Joshua Maxwell beat Silas Isaac 9-5

David Ekpenyong beat Filipo Trombi 9-1


Girls 14 and Under


Nene Yakubu beat Ndidi Osaji 9-0

Mary Azi beat Priscilla Terfa 9-3


Favour Amaechi beat Fego Ayetuoma 9-5

Amarachi Ezeh beat Khadijat Mohammed 9-3


Girls 16 and Under


Oiza Yakubu beat Toyin Adeniran 9-1

Salamatu Haruna beat Chidinma Ezeh 9-4


Blessing Out beat Mary Udoffa 9-3

Serena Teluwo beat Destiny Okhinaye 9-4.

Group matches continue on Thursday till Friday at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Lagos. Semifinals matches are billed for Saturday while the final is on Sunday.

Photo Credit: Chris Onah