Alex Adewale and Chituru Nwaozuzu, today, claimed the CBN Senior Open wheelchair men’s and women’s singles title in Abuja.

Alex Adewale CBN 2020

8 consecutive winner’s trophy for Alex Adewale

Top seed, Alex Adewale, eased past PUMA Wheelchair Open champion, Wasiu Yusuf in an incredible 6-1, 6-2 victory, to claim his eighth consecutive title at the CBN Open. This also makes it the eighth time Adewale will defeat Wasiu Yusuf at the CBN Open finals.

Chituru Nwaozuzu scaled

Chituru Nwaozuzu after her victory

Meanwhile, Chituru Nwaozuzu, claimed the women’s title after a hard-fought victory against defending champion, Kafayat Omisore. After comfortably losing the first set, Omisore was able to hit back in the second set, which led to the match being decided by a match tie-break, where Nwaozuzu emerged victorious. The match ended 6-2, 2-6, 10-6.

Chituru Nwaozuzu CBN 2020

Nwaozuzu with her 1st ever winner’s trophy

Chituru Nwaozuzu has been defeated in the finals twice by Kafayat Omisore(In 2018 and 2019), and this is her first CBN Senior Open title since Wheelchair Tennis was introduced in 2013.

Final Results

Men’s Singles

Alex Adewale bt. Wasiu Yusuf 6-1, 6-2

Women’s Singles

Chituru Nwaozuzu bt. Kafayat Omisore 6-2, 2-6, 10-6