The 41st edition of the CBN Senior Open Tennis Championship will get underway in June at the National Tennis Centre in Abuja.

The tournament, which has held annually since 1979, will serve off from 20 – 29 June, 2019, with 20th as the arrival date.

The CBN Open will have the men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, as well as the wheelchair men’s and women’s singles categories, with a best of 3 tie-break set format for the singles event, and a best of 2 tiebreak set to be decided by a 10-point super tie-break for the doubles event.

Both the men’s and women’s singles will have a draw size of 64, while the doubles event for both sexes will have a draw size of 32.

The hard-court event, which is bankrolled by the Central Bank of Nigeria, has always held in Lagos. In 2018, however, for the purpose of its 40th anniversary, the tournament took place at the National Tennis Centre in Abuja. For convenience, the tournament will still hold in Abuja this year.

Champions in the men’s and women’s singles last year received 700,000 naira. Sylvester Emmanuel, who’s currently the country’s No.1, claimed his maiden title at the event last year, and will be looking to have a successful title-defense campaign when the tournament begins, while Sarah Adegoke will aim to secure a third consecutive title at the event.

IMG 20190513 054245

Sarah Adegoke claimed her second straight CBN Open title in Abuja last year.

Six-time champion, Abdulmumin Babalola will have his sights set on equalling the long-standing record of seven titles won in the men’s singles event, a record held by David Imonitie and set in 1991.

Mark your calendars as we look ahead to another incredible experience of tennis at the National Tennis Centre, Abuja.