With group stage action concluding on Thursday, defending champion, Omolayo Bamidele, David Dawariye and other top seeds in the various categories did just enough to book their place in the semifinals of the SNEPCo Futures Tennis Championship in Lagos.

David Dawariye, seeded No.1 in the boys 16 and under, stayed on course for a third junior title this year, having secured a 10-5, 10-1 victory over Emma Ope to reach the semifinals at the National Tennis Centre in Surulere.

Suleiman Ibrahim, who’s seeded 2nd, also advanced to the semifinals, following a straightforward 10-4, 10-4 victory over Emeka Ogunjiofor. Dawariye and Ibrahim were joined in the semis by Daniel Adeleye and Ali Abubakar.

DSC 2584 1068x707 1

Suleiman Ibrahim in action.

Also in the semis are Omolade Aderemi, the top seed in the girls 16 and under category, and Omolayo Bamidele, who’s still on track for a title defense.

While the defending champion, Omolayo Bamidele, advanced to the semis without trouble, following a 10-6, 10-6 win over Peace Udoh, Omolade Aderemi relied on a superior game difference to go through.

Aderemi had lost her opening group match on Day 1, but bounced back to win the other two matches, including a 10-5, 10-6 victory over Destiny Okhinaye on Thursday. However, with Destiny Okhinaye and Esther Azi, who beat Aderemi on Day 1, both winning two games each, it all boiled down to the game difference, which Aderemi had the advantage in.

DSC 2542 2

Omolade Aderemi got through to the semifinals on superior game difference.

Still in the girls 16 and under, 3rd seed, Favour Moses also reached the semis, while Toyosi Adeusi, who’s seeded 4th, had to defeat Ngoware Jim-Jaja 8-10, 10-5, 10-7 to go through.

DSC 2601

Favour Moses

Elsewhere in the boys 14 and under category, Isaac Danjuma recovered just in time from a lapse in concentration to beat Samod Olubuade 10-3, 7-10, 10-6 and make the semifinals, while second seed, Ganiyu Mubarak got past Bode Lawal 10-6, 10-5 to join the semifinal train. Philip Pyagbara and Arwal Garba, seeded 3rd and 4th, respectively also advanced to the semis with straight-sets victories in their respective encounters.

In the girls 14 and under category, Okajare Simisola came back from a set down to beat Eunice Yorumu 8-10, 10-7, 10-7, while Schola Otu defeated Esther Oni 10-4, 10-4. Both Simisola and Otu made the semifinals and they are joined by Imole Afolabi and Esther Oni, who despite the loss, still qualified because of her victory over Olamide Aluko on Day 2.

Seun Ogunsakin and Mohammed Idris advanced to the semifinals alongside Precious Ikeuba and Lucky Danjuma in the boys 12 and under category. Top seed, Ogunsakin’s 12-10, 10-7 victory over Satyam Marya ensured his progress, while 2nd seed, Mohammed Idris dismissed Yohanna Yakubu 10-1, 10-1 and later on, Paul Idoko, who won the Play Your Age under-10 title in April, 10-8, 12-14, 10-8 to seal qualification.

DSC 2188

10-year-old Seun Ogunsakin in action.

In the girls 12 and under category, Favour Amaechi defeated Peace Agbeje 10-3, 10-8 to reach the semis, while Esther Ehimebe secured a hard-fought 11-9, 9-11, 15-13 victory to make the semifinals. Faith Adeusi also made progress after beating Lorelax Holzendorf 11-9, 10-4, while Mary Benjamin claimed a 10-6, 10-6 victory to also advance.

Results from Day 3

Boys 12 and Under

Group A
Seun Ogunsakin bt. Satyam Marya 12-10, 10-7
Onyekachi Ogunjiofor bt. Victor Hemba 10-12, 10-5, 10-5

Group B
Mohammed Idris bt. Yohanna Yakubu 10-1, 10-0
Paul Idoko bt. Emmanuel Ameh 10-5, 10-12, 11-9
Mohammed Idris bt. Paul Idoko 10-8, 12-14, 10-8

Group C
Precious Ikeuba bt. Prince Emeka 10-2, 10-6
Peter Idoko WO David Edwards

Group D
Lucky Danjuma bt. Seyi Ogunsakin 10-6, 10-6

Girls 12 and Under

Group A
Favour Amaechi bt. Peace Agbeje 10-3, 10-8

Group B
Esther Ehimebe bt. Mary Azi 11-9, 9-11, 15-13
Bright Emmanuel bt. Juanita Mueke 10-7, 10-6

Group C
Faith Adeusi bt. Lorelax Holzendorf 11-9, 10-4
Nnena Yorumu bt. Justina Emmanuel 10-12, 10-6, 10-7

Group D
Mary Benjamin bt. Success Ogunjobi 10-6, 10-6
Christiana bt. Ndidi Osaji 10-8, 10-6

Boys 14 and Under

Group A
Isaac Danjuma bt. Samod Olubuade 10-3, 7-10, 10-6
Moses Olamilekan bt. Israel Taiwo 10-7, 10-6

Group B
Ganiyu Mubarak bt. Bode Lawal 10-6, 10-5
Chinedu Sunday bt. Egene Elijah 10-6, 8-10, 16-14

Group C
Phillip Pyagbara bt. Basil Ajao 10-8, 14-12

Group D
Arwal Garba bt. Ayomide Oduwaye 10-6, 10-7
Joseph Jimoh bt. Michael Nekekpemi 10-6, 10-4

Girls 14 and Under

Group A
Okajare Simisola bt.Eunice Yorumu 8-10, 10-7, 10-7

Group B
Schola Otu bt. Esther Oni 10-4, 10-4

Boys 16 and Under

Group A
David Dawariye bt. Emma Ope 10-5, 10-1
Jimoh Taofeek bt. Usman Garba 10-5, 15-13

Group B
Suleiman Ibrahim bt. Emeka Ogunjiofor 10-4, 10-4
Michael Akinmusire bt. Monday Odey 10-5, 10-5

Group C
Daniel Adeleye bt. Gbolahan Oladipupo 10-3, 10-5
Taofik Mogaji WO Mumuni Ramat

Group D
Ali Abubakar bt. Peter Egena 10-8, 10-8
Sunday Ameh bt. Gbolahan Olaniyan 10-1, 10-6

Girls 16 and Under

Group A
Omolade Aderemi bt. Destiny Okhinaye 10-5, 10-6
Esther Azi bt. Esther Ajayi 10-5, 10-1

Group B
Omolayo Bamidele bt. Peace Udoh 10-6, 10-6
Fatima Ganiyu bt. Faith Ameh 10-5, 14-12

Group C
Peace Obabori WO Favour Ebunu

Group D
Toyosi Adeusi bt. Ngowari Jim-Jaja 8-10, 10-5, 10-7


Top 2 seeds in the semifinal draws will be kept apart.

Boys 12
Seun Ogunsakin – No.1 Seed.
Mohammed Idris – No.2 Seed.
Precious Ikeuba – No.3 Seed.
Lucky Danjuma – No.4 Seed.

Girls 12
Favour Amaechi – No.1 Seed.
Esther Ehimebe – Unseeded.
Faith Adeusi – No.3 Seed.
Mary Benjamin – No.4 Seed.

Boys 14
Isaac Danjuma – No.1 Seed.
Mubarak Ganiyu – No.2 Seed.
Phillip Pyagbara – No.3 Seed.
Arwal Garba – No.4 Seed.

Girls 14
Afolabi Imole – No.1 Seed.
Simisola Okajare – Unseeded.
Schola Otu – No.2 Seed.
Esther Oni – Unseeded.

Boys 16
David Dawariye – No.1 Seed.
Suleiman Ibrahim – No.2 Seed.
Daniel Adeleye – No.3 Seed.
Ali Abubakar – No.4 Seed.

Girls 16
Omolade Aderemi – No.1 Seed.
Omolayo Bamidele – No.2 Seed
Favour Moses – No.3 Seed.
Toyosi Adeusi – Unseeded.