The 3rd edition of the Rainoil Open Tennis Championship will serve off in December in Lagos, where it has always held.

The event, which will hold on clay this year, will see players from all over the country battle it out for top honours in the men’s and women’s singles, as well as the men’s and women’s doubles, from Monday, 2 December through to Sunday, 8 December at the Lagos Country Club in Ikeja. However, registration for the event will be on Thursday, 28 November, while qualifiers will hold from Friday, 29 Nov., – Sunday, 1 December.

The tournament, sponsored by Rainoil Limited- an integrated downstream oil and gas company in Nigeria- is dedicated to support young talents and promote tennis in the country and has a prize-money pot of NGN5.1 million.

Last year, Joseph Imeh defeated Henry Atseye in the men’s final, while Blessing Samuel came back from the brink of defeat to stun Christie Agugbom 2-6, 7-5, 6-0 in an epic women’s singles final.

IMG 20190930 070923

Last year’s women’s singles champ, Blessing Samuel

Abdulmumin Babalola and Albert Bikom won the men’s doubles title, defeating the duo of Josoeh Imeh and Christian Paul, while Blessing Samuel and Christie Agugbom claimed the women’s doubles title, with victory over Stella Udokwelu and Fortune Ebere.