Winners have emerged at the 14th CBN Junior Championship which came to an end on Sunday.

The week-long tournament was the first in the circuit of the International Tennis Academy (ITA) this year because of the long delay caused by the Coronavirus pandemic.

At the end of hostilities at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club in Onikan, the Ogunsakin brothers, David Ekpenyong, Nene Yakubu, and Mary Udoffa emerged champions in the five age categories.

IMG 20201011 WA0066

Joshua Maxwell(L) congratulates David Ekpenyong after his victory.

Starting with the Boys 16 and Under, David Ekpenyong in his second meeting with 2nd seed Joshua Maxwell, rolled past him 9-1 to win the age category. Maxwell had come into the match hoping to inflict another defeat on the former Boys 14 and Under champion but quickly fizzled out under his dominance.

IMG 20201011 WA0077

David Ekpenyong being presented with his trophy

It was also another case of total dominance in the Girls 16 and Under as 2nd seed, Mary Udoffa ruthlessly dispatched Blessing Otu 9-0 to claim the title. Udoffa, since losing to Otu earlier in the group stage had been in her clinical best winning 3 straight matches including a victory over number 1 seed Oiza Yakubu en route to the final. In the final on Sunday, Otu had no answer to her dominant display.

IMG 20201011 WA0093

Mary Udoffa receiving her trophy

Elsewhere, top seed Seun Ogunsakin followed up his Boys 12 and Under victory last year by claiming the Boys 14 and Under title. Ogunsakin playing against Mohammed Idris in the final won 8-2 rtd. Idris dispatched last year’s Boys 12 and Under runner up Lucky Danjuma in the last four on Saturday but didn’t do enough to trouble Ogunsakin in the final as he had to retire due to a shoulder injury.

IMG 20201011 WA0061

Seun Ogunsakin celebrates a winning point against Mohammed Idris.

It was however double joy for the Ogunsakin brothers as the other half, Seyi Ogunsakin also emerged champion in the Boys 12 and Under. His opponent in the final was David Edwards who retired while losing 6-3.

IMG 20201011 WA0055

Seyi Ogunsakin wins his maiden title at the tournament.

Also, the top seed in the Girls 14 and Under, Nene Yakubu defeated Amarachi Ezeh 9-2 to win the title. Ezeh came into the fixture with the good momentum after dumping out 2nd seed Favour Ameachi in the semifinal but couldn’t do much in her loss on Sunday. Nene Yakubu won the Girls 12 and Under last year.

IMG 20201011 WA0075

Amarachi Ezeh and Nene Yakubu with their trophies alongside a CBN Official

The awards for the Most Oustanding Male Player and Most Oustanding Female Player went to Ganiyu Mubarak and Mary Udoffa respectively.

Mubarak was very impressive throughout the tournament most especially in his final round-robin match against highly rated Gabriel Inyang, a match he won 9-6. Udoffa came into this tournament knowing this was going to be her last 16 and Under Tournament, after losing her first round-robin match against Blessing Otu, she upped her game and defeated every other person she faced in the tournament to bow out on a high. The final results didn’t determine the recipients of the awards as they had already been picked after the semifinal matches.

IMG 20201011 WA0092

Mary Udoffa(L) and Ganiyu Mubarak(R) were voted Most Outstanding Players of the tournament


Boys 12 and Under

Seyi Ogunsakin bt. David Edwards 6-3 rtd.

Boys 14 and Under

Seun Ogunsakin bt. Mohammed Idris 8-2 rtd.

Boys 16 and Under

David Ekpenyong bt. Joshua Maxwell 9-1

Girls 14 and Under

Nene Yakubu bt. Amarachi Ezeh 9-2

Girls 16 and Under

Mary Udoffa bt. Blessing Otu 9-0


Photo Credit: Chris Onah